2d Platformer – Design Development

I was working on another digital drawing that I thought could use a textured overlay. I liked the pattern of this knitted cardigan close up so I took a photograph of it. Once I had edited it and imported it into the project it didn’t seem to work the way I hoping.

It then occurred to me that the structure could be appropriated into a platform design. As I’m supposed to be constructing a 2D platform game I thought I would try using this image as my base.

I cut out a rough path, added some shadows and highlights, created a gradient back drop, and then worked the original image back into the background.

I needed some kind of end point platform so I took a photo of a quartz stone that I edited and flipped to my liking before importing it into the project.

After importing the stone I made further tonal embellishments to the platforms, curves adjustments to the background, and added a kind of glow behind the stone.

fabricplatform.3

I’m happy with how this looks but am not sure how practical it will be in the game construction phase at this stage.

Leave a Reply

